A Different Track

Times change, so do trends. With that comes change to the blog.

Obviously things aren’t as updated here anymore as I would like. I just went two solid months between posts, and its during the winter season which I love the most and would post about. Looking back, I would cram like 15 some odd posts in one month!

The new school semester in full swing(and three Meteorology courses on the platter), I’ve also become more dedicated to photography in shooting mainly sports for Central Michigan’s CMLife. I’ve also been focusing on my IT support job within CMU’s new College of Medicine. Additionally, I am currently the webmaster for the Student Chapter of the American Meteorological Society (S.C.A.M.S) at CMU. I hope in my learnings at this position (creating a new modern website) I can spruce this blog up and perhaps get a actual domain for more flexibility!

Basically things have cranked up, and I want to focus on those. I’ve found the Facebook page to be more rewarding for now as it lets me brief the weather quickly, and it gets sent directly to folk’s feeds for feedback! So consider following that. The primary use of the blog now is a archive of my events or adventures with the weather, much like the previous post about almost being in a EF-2 tornado, which I promise won’t happen again. Hopefully this is a short term change, and things can be like they once were.

I like to think I can teach people about the weather and the forces behind it, but learning in class is making me realize how hard it is to convey these dynamics and processes to others without the background. This happens in EVERY subject, and that’s something mind-blowing I’ve realized in college. I try my best to slip in the Goldilocks zone to keep things science-y, yet understandable.

Thanks for everyone’s support, stay tuned!

The Day Winds Down

This was a euphoric sight to see after a day near strong winds and driving rains. A somber evening winds down as we return home from Indiana and the November 17, 2013 severe weather outbreak. Wind farms will forever be a symbol of this day to me.

About gweatherc
Live in Michigan and enjoy observing the weather. Want to pursue it as a career! Currently taking classes at Central Michigan University.

One Response to A Different Track

  1. george cornwell says:

    Hello Greg,
    Sounds like you have a full plate. You are moving forward. Keep up the great work.
    Talk to you later.
    Standing by, Dad

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

