Rain lessens for the weekend, decides to come later

The low that threatened to give us a soaking this weekend looks to track a little further south now. With this severe storms look to pop up near the Gulf coast. Think we only have a chance of some spotty showers at this point for the weekend. Another system right behind it will bring the rain for early week, especially Monday as a giant orb of blue coloring spreads over Michigan on the GFS.

Low

*absorb*

While this is easily a week out, pretty sure things will hold together and we will see rain. Besides, more than a week without rain in spring is just not right.

I know these photos have been zooming around the web and media alike. Absolutely stunning shots of the Iceland volcano combined with some lightning. Thought I would share a bit of a Reuters article I found with my favorite image!

Lightning streaks across the sky as lava flows from a volcano in Eyjafjallajokul April 17, 2010. REUTERS/Lucas Jackson

I realize that this photograph is pretty much the attention grabber from all those that I have taken in Iceland on this trip so I figured I would write up a little about what it took to get the image. As soon as I got this assignment, a photograph of a volcano erupting with lightning inside of the ash plume was on my mind. I had seen one a couple of years ago from a volcano in South America so I knew it happened. When I was watching the ash during the first dusk I saw plenty of lightning so I knew I had a shot at making this picture.

http://blogs.reuters.com/photo/2010/04/20/volcanoes-lightning-and-experimentation/

About gweatherc
Live in Michigan and enjoy observing the weather. Want to pursue it as a career! Currently taking classes at Central Michigan University.

Leave a Reply

