Two Years

Today is the 2nd of December, 2010. It has now been two years of Weather Blogging for me and I am really enjoying it. I hope in turn it has also helped my viewers! In those two years, I have amassed just short of 3,000 views! Also have about 40 comments asking questions or commenting on the filler info. I am happy to be making these forecasts for everyone because it helps improve my forecasting skills as well as to see what the general public thinks of weather. I’m hoping in the future this can become a valuable tool! Want to thank everyone who tells me about the blog in these comments or in person. It really is gratifying knowing someone out there enjoys reading it!  Have to put some thanks in for my friend David who first suggested this. At first I did not think much of it, but man those kids in the halls at school are demanding! While I am not super enthused to post sometimes, thinking of these people acknowledging the blog can turn that right around, so THANK YOU!

December 1st was a pretty good day. On it, we saw our first snowfall in the Mount Pleasant area. While it was only a dusting to maybe a half inch…it counts! Most of this was due to some shortwave systems creeping across Lake Michigan and firing some Lake Effect snows. Areas that saw the most were around Grand Rapids where totals topped 6 inches! Not a bad start! Bad thing was, I forgot to take a picture in the morning! By the time I got a chance to, most of it had disappeared from the grass. Some sparse areas were still snowy, but it was nowhere near the amount we had in the morning. Did get a shot of a bush, was probably the best representative…

Covering of snow on a bush, December 1st.

Today woke up to see a nice dusting of snow. Sidewalks were pretty slick this time.

Looking ahead, it seems a system will pass south of us dropping a few inches from the Upper Midwest to the Ohio Valley. I can see extreme southwestern portions of Michigan getting some snow from this, but the area was probably better off from this past LE (Lake Effect) event. Shame it will go south as anywhere from 2-7 inches are possible.  What most of Michigan will see, is COLD air coming down. A professor the other day described it as a ‘tongue of cold’ and that’s exactly what it looks like on the models! Wind looks to be from the North meaning some places placed south of a lake could see some lake effect. GFS really holds this air in for awhile and am beginning to think it is here to stay. No storms are really showing up at this time, so the cold will just be here to annoy. Biggest forecast will be for lake effect snows in the up and coming week.

Just for fun forecast: GFS has a large system on the 11th and 12th that would bring some snows, but I feel like this same routine has been followed once before…

About gweatherc
Live in Michigan and enjoy observing the weather. Want to pursue it as a career! Currently taking classes at Central Michigan University.

2 Responses to Two Years

  1. dad says:

    Thank you for your weather reports Greg. I installed my snow tires on my 2000 Honda Insight last night.
    Bring on the snow!!
    Regards, Dad

  2. Pamela says:

    I just want to congratulate you on your second anniversary of blogging. I also want to add that your forecast for Dec 1 was right on. We had snow in Chelsea, but very little accumulation. I finally broke down and put the extra lining in my coat. Winter is here. I hope you will be back in Chelsea for the Dec 11 snows you alluded to.
    Keep up the great work on your weather blog. Mom
    PS I forget what GFS stands for.

Leave a Reply

