Approach

There is nothing more that drives my weather blog than the recognition I receive via friends and readers of my blog. Every now and then I like to address this, in this case it is for my new friends at Central Michigan.

As we approach 5k views of this site since December of 2008, I would like to say thank you to all my new readers. Attending Central Michigan University this past year really added some more insight and I think produced some more fans! Not even halfway through this year, and am only 100 views shy of the total from last year!

Big thank you to my roommates who put up with my weather jargon and habits when a storm was rolling through. Also for dragging you along to places to investigate weather. The Island Park investigation comes to mind, as well as me freaking out over Winter Storm Watches. It was a great year, and I felt in place, especially when joining the Student Chapter of the American Meteorological Society (SCAMS). There I found other weather weenies where we could talk about weather stuff for hours on end on the way to a conference. Was a terrific first year experience. No doubt the weather bug has me good, but the extra push makes all the difference…

On this fantastic event, I managed to wrangle in some lightning last night! I was about to go to bed when a storm appeared on radar and was heading the right way. So I grabbed my camera and set the tripod up in the living room. I had no clue what settings to use, so I just set it for a 30 second shutter and let it ‘record’ an image of night sky hoping for a flash or two in between. Sure enough I got a bolt! My excitement hit an extreme and I had to remember to press the shutter again to start a new image! Made a slight adjustment of the aperture to maybe dull the flash and make the bolt more noticeable. That very next frame I got a wonderful shot of multiple leaders hitting their mark.

Triple or quad? Amazed at the result!

I have a few more that I uploaded to flickr, they can be seen on the sidebar.

Moving into a forecast, scattered or isolated thunderstorms can be expected most of the week. Temperatures will stay in the 70s, once again approaching 80 on Thursday. With these thunderstorms, will have plenty of chances for more lightning photos! Very excited.

About gweatherc
Live in Michigan and enjoy observing the weather. Want to pursue it as a career! Currently taking classes at Central Michigan University.

One Response to Approach

  1. Pamela says:

    Love the shots of lightning! It looks explosive the way they light up the clouds overhead. Glad they didn’t hit our house. I’d love to see the reverse color shot of the clouds you have. I think it looked ominous. Keep up the good work.
    Pam

Leave a Reply

