Monday MCS

The weather systems heard my call. Not a few days after my last post, a decent squall line moved through my back yard.

This squall line landed off Lake Michigan around Ludington at 9am and travelled SE. I was on my way home when I saw the first signs of an impending storm.

Archived radar loop as a squall line MCS heads across state. I am located just north of Chelsea.

The clear morning had turned into a mask of high clouds with a visible barrier of thicker cloud. By the time I got home, the sky north was notably darker. A quick check of the radar confirmed a well-developed MCS (Mesoscale Convective System) heading our way. It was about 11:30am when I went upstairs to watch the storm arrive. It came with a show.

Not long after, I could see the faint line of a shelf cloud in the distance. I got so excited I sat on the edge of the window sill to get a better view(there is an overhang right below the window so I was safe, mom/dad). Right about when the wind showed up I climbed back inside, but I got the goods.

Inbound

Panorama of a haunting shelf cloud on approach. (click for larger)

First was the wind being pulled into the storm. When the cloud was finally over you, it felt cooler. In the distance, the sky was featureless. A giant curtain of rain clogged the sky, and boy did it pour. Lightning was about and lasted a good while after the main convective part of the storm was over. Looking at my weather station data from the deck, it is easy to spot when exactly the storm passed. Note the pressure change, cold pool, and wind spike around noon.

Personal weather station data from Wunderground.

This action made me miss storms, but perhaps we will have another look Thursday night or this weekend. Warm temperatures behind a passed warm front will be the headliners through mid-week. Come late week and early next week, temperatures fall into the lower 80s, upper 70s. The responsible cold front will pass through this weekend, so again we could see some storms.

About gweatherc
Live in Michigan and enjoy observing the weather. Want to pursue it as a career! Currently taking classes at Central Michigan University.

2 Responses to Monday MCS

  1. Mrs. Forsch says:

    Greg!!! I saw that interesting array of clouds, and the first thing I thought was “oh…Greg would like to photograph this”, “isn’t it pretty” and ” I wonder what this type of cloud structure is called?”.

    You heard me!!! didn’t realize you were “home”..,didn’t know what home was above…cmu or chelsea town!

    • gweatherc says:

      Eric contacted me as well haha. Yup, home(Chelsea) for the summer taking some classes nearby. Was good to see Nick for the few hours I did few weeks back.

Leave a Reply

